Last updateFri, 19 Sep 2014 5pm

Back You are here: Home Sports Records fall in 2013 Palarong Pambansa

Records fall in 2013 Palarong Pambansa

DUMAGUETE CITY—Records started to fall in the 2013 Palarong Pambansa with an up-and-coming star from Central Luzon shattering the secondary boys’ javelin mark and four others making their presence felt in swimming on Tuesday.

Bryan Jay Pacheco set a new Palaro record in secondary boys’ javelin throw with a 57.81-meter effort in his final attempt, in the process stunning his “idol” Joshua Vincent Patalud of the National Capital Region (NCR) in Day Two of athletics competitions at the Gov. Mariano Perdices Memorial Stadium.

At the nearby San Lorenzo G. Teves Aquatics Center, Central Luzon’s Rafael Barreto and the NCR’s Catherin Bondad registered new records at the start of the swimming events.

The 12-year-old Barreto broke the elementary boys’ 200-meter freestyle record of two minutes and 9.33 seconds established by Omar Philip Decera in 2009 with his 2:08.12 clocking.

Marc Audrey Santos, also from Central Luzon, took silver with 1:17.38, while the NCR’s Stephen John de Jesus grabbed the bronze with 1:17.90.

Barreto also won gold in the 50-meter butterfly with a time of 28.50 seconds, beating Mimaropa’s Angelo Jason de la Cruz (29.96) and Northern Mindanao’s Darren Daniel Villarta (30.45).

He was also part of the relay team that gave Central Luzon the gold in the 200-meter event, thus becoming the first triple-gold medalist of the 2013 Palaro. Central Luzon logged 2:10.53 to beat Mimaropa (2:14.13) and Central Visayas (2:16.52).

Bondad, an incoming junior at San Beda Alabang, topped the Palaro record of Dorothy Ong in 2008 in secondary girls’ 100-meter backstroke event.

The charming national youth swimmer timed 1:07.47 to erase Ong’s 1:07.94 mark.

Calabarzon’s Ana Nicole Tan (1:12.63) and Josefa Sophia Agoncillo (1:15.37) took the silver and bronze medals, respectively.

Bondad also won gold in the 400-meter freestyle with 4:42.20, beating teammate Kirsten Chloe Daos (4:50.91) and Pamintuan (4:56.10).

The NCR’s Regina Erin Castrillo also erased the elementary girls’ 50-meter butterfly record after submitting a qualifying time of 29.68 seconds.

The old record established by Lyneth Ang in 1996 was 30.65.

In Photo: Jessa Mayor of Cagayan Valley leaps to the secondary girls’ long-jump gold medal on Tuesday. (Roy Domingo)






Health & Fitness